4:18 p.m. | November 20, 2001

me ranting and praising, all at the same time

Just got back from physio. The therapist asked me if everything was good with physio and i said "yeah, it's actually one of the things i enjoy about living here." which is true. strange, like i like going to be in pain and work hard. today is the first day i've really had to work very hard too. I was actually winded. that might sound odd to people, but when you have a degenerative muscle disease, getting winded isn't really easy since there isn't much you can do in the first place. I think part of the reason i like physio is because i really like my therapist; i want to work for her. i've been told by several people that she's brilliant, very smart and experienced in her field. also she's a really nice person. I think the fact that she's so experienced makes more comfortable with her, i can tell she really knows what she's doing. that's always a good thing when putting your wellbeing into someone's hands. i think i've gotten an instinct for it now. who would be a good caregiver and who sucks.

this leads me to another topic, which i'll probably get hate mail for, but i'm going to write it anyway. asian people are NOT good caregivers. well, so you can email me here and tell me how prejudice i am. I am very serious though. I'm not prejudice either, it's just experience that has taught me this. they are more lazy for one and they try to do things faster which results in the job not being done right or something bad happening. for example, when i was living at the hospital one of the nurses dropped my laptop. she was asian and the reason it got dropped was because the cord was somehow caught on my wheelchair. she was trying to move the wheelchair and instead of checking why it wouldn't move she just yanked on it as hard as she could. laptop met floor. they weren't that great of friends really. luckily nothing was broken harware-wise and only the case was dented. this is only one of many many examples i could go on about. now i'm not saying nurses or caregivers of other racial persuations are perfect, because they aren't. i've had alot of white caregivers/nurses that totally sucked, however it seems to be rampant in the asian ones. i don't know if it's cultural or what. suffice it to say i try to avoid them when possible. i like to be treated as a person, not an object and like my things and space to be respected. rant over.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.