6:10 p.m. | Monday, Nov. 18, 2002

a little rant

I watched my first episodes ever of Oz on the weekend. It struck me how similar institutions are. Whether you are in a nursing home, a hospital or prison people tell you when to eat, when to go to the bathroom, when to take a shower and everything else. Of course there isn't the threat of being killed with a homemade weapon so much in a nursing home. One guy on Oz who seemed to be the narrator said that it's the routine that will kill you. He�s totally right.

It also made me wonder how a person deals with people they know are dangerous and criminal while still seeing them as people. They have to do things for them and even help them if things are going drastically, visibly wrong. I realize that in nursing homes there is a difference because the people tend to be fairly out of it, so some of them can be treated as children. Unfortunately this tends to bleed over into their interactions with everyone in the place. Not even children really like to be treated like children that much. In any case, in a prison it would be different because even though they obviously aren't the cream of society, most of them have all their faculties about them. It�s hard not to be condescending to people that you are "above" so to speak. People that you have control over. This makes me wonder how you could change something like that for those who take care of people. Outside of a prison a caregiver is necessary but just because a person can't take care of themselves doesn't make them stupid. Believe me, I�ve had my share of people thinking I�m stupid, or deaf for some reason. Of course, not all people that are in charge of others are like this but none of them should be at all. In my opinion anyway.

Love is an exploding cigar we willingly smoke.
-- Lynda Barry

Life being what it is, one dreams of revenge.
-- Paul Gauguin

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.