6:35 p.m. | March 08, 2002

why do these thing always happen to me

today i was just sitting at the computer doing nothing special when this guy in a wheelchair just waltzed (wheeled) into my room. i said hi or whatever but he seemed to speak mostly in grunts and i couldn't understand a thing. i wasn't too worried until he started coming more into my room and then til close enough to me so that our wheelchairs touched. i didn't know who he was, or what his plans were. i couldn't very well ask him either because he didn't have much in the way of communication skills. so he backed up and i thought he was leaving but no. he pulled something out of his pocket which appeared to be a shoe polish container. then he made weird jerking movements and i thought he was touching himself, but thank god he was only trying to open the container.

i became alarmed when he got out of his chair and was standing on his knees. then he was squatting and crawling around the floor making strange bodily function noises so i was afraid he was going to mess himself. i frantically rang the nurse but no go. i figured they wouldn't be coming it was supper time and they had people to feed. so, i called my sister and her boyfriend answered and looked up the number to the front desk of this ward in the phone book for me. i called and asked the person who answered the phone to mosey on down to my room pronto. by this time the guy was kneeling at the sink and had emptied his pockets onto it. finally they came to my rescue.

apparently this guy is new here today and they don't know much about him yet. had a hard time convincing him to get back into his chair and out of my room.

nothing really happened, but i was very very nervous. i had no idea what he was going to do, what he could do or understand. frankly, if he had touched me i might have gone a bit towards the balistic side. possibly yelling. i don't like being touched in the first place and this was not a situation i'm used to handling. also i wasn't sure how to handle it either. he was in my room for about 15 mins, maybe more. that is the last time i leave my door partially open. thank god for ativan, but what i could really use is a few shots of some hard liquor.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.