11:52 a.m. | May 02, 2002

it's a really long entry

Today my stomach is all crampy again. I hate that. I should have told my mom to buy me a bottle of Advil for my room. She has a cell phone; I think I might do that yet. Home care is totally pissing me off. Home care for those of you who haven't been reading long enough, heh, is a government run (see the problem right there) company that lets you hire people at a reduced rate to come into your home and help take care of your needs. They are really limited in what they will do for you and get more limited as time goes on and the government cuts budgets. They also now are responsible for the attendant care program in this district (probably like a county for the American readers). I think I mentioned attendant care before, where you would hire your own caregivers to come into your home. Anyway, that's a different story. Home care sucks ass because for one they have for some reason just scheduled arbitrary times without consulting my mother or me. I don't know why they did this, but now they come far to late in the afternoon and way too early at night. I don't want to get into bed at 9:30pm thanks so much. Today they failed to book someone for the morning and as a consequence were very late. They are training people like crazy but they keep booking them at the wrong times so the trainer and the trainee don't show up at the same time. It�s incredibly stressful, for one to have new people constantly in my house and "learning" to take care of me. Also it's stressful NOT having them come at the right times. I think I�m getting snippy with people. Stupid stupid home care.

As for the attendant care thing, home care is running it. It�s complicated and I�m not sure I understand it all so bear with me here. Ok so, the government decided to start the attendant care program here in this province. However, each district has to come up with their own way of running it. For each person they get something like $3800 to hire people to come in and take care of them. Sounds good to me, but wait, there's more. Since home care is running it and it comes out of their budget (weird, I don't get it) they decided that we'd only get enough money to hire people for the amount of hours that home care will come in to any given house. That is not enough for me (or anyone really) to live on their own unless they have a primary caregiver that does everything that home care won't do. I have an entry on this from before; I just don't remember where it is. I didn't know then that the government had actually allotted an amount of money per person. So the problem basically is that you have to fight against your district rules to get the money that is rightfully, according the government, yours. Also, you have to sign a legal document saying you won't hire anyone from home care to come into your home as an attendant caregiver. So you have to find these people on your own and all that. Probably not very easy I would think. Also you can never use home care again either. So if your caregiver craps out, you�re screwed. Great system isn't it. Plus you have to take care of the entire payroll and insurance, deductions from paychecks stuff yourself. So you'd better know how to run a small business as well. Luckily my dad knows how to do this, but basically as it stands right now, it's a lot of work and risk for nothing. Hopefully as time goes on things will improve. People just have to stand up and say, this is shit and we won't stand for it. That also takes a lot of work, because you have to find which person can help you out or can actually do anything when you say, "this is shit." Bureaucracy is complicated and makes you beat your head against brick walls.

On to other things. Ever have something really surreal happen that you can't quite believe even though you know that people are telling you the truth. That happened to me on the weekend but I haven't written about it yet. Ok here's the story. My sister has a best friend Chris, who I am also good friends with. My sister is also friends with his brothers and his parents. His parents have apparently started some sort of international banking sort of business to help companies out of the country close deals that involve Canadian banks and such. I don't quite understand it and neither does my sister. Anyway, this business has made them, to quote from the source, "obscenely rich". They have closed one deal that made them 11 million dollars. Now besides learning that international banking makes people a fucking lot of money they have made me, through my mother, an offer. They said they want to buy me a place to live; like a house or a condo. Now I�m stunned. For one I�ve never met these people, even though my sister has talked about them a lot being that they are her best friend's parents and that they are cool people. My parents have met them, I forget when and what for. In any case, they are really rich and want to help me become independent. Again, stunned. Really really stunned. For one I had no idea they were rich (they just got this way) and for another they want to make me their charity, tax write-off type deal. No objections from me I have to say. Mom said they were thinking about doing it in about a year, which is fine with me, you know, whenever. It makes it a bit more surreal because it's not that close to the present but still; a year isn't really that long. I don't know why they want to wait that long, and honestly it doesn't matter. Mostly because I don't believe it's going to happen. I�m very skeptical about anything good directed towards me. Now this is my dilemma, or slight problem. They live in a different city, and I�ve never met them. I feel I should call and at least say hi. I have to say more than hi though, and what beyond that I should say I have no idea. Anyone have advice? "Uh thanks for offering to buy me a house." just doesn't seem to cut it for me. I don't want to gush like an idiot, not too much anyway. So yes, advice is welcome.

That�s all for today folks.

Book I'm Currently Reading: Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.