6:07 p.m. | Monday, Feb. 10, 2003

i don't know what to put as a title, quit pressuring me

The one problem that I�ve found with selling Avon is that I have learned to love buying it too. I have to be careful that I don't buy more than I sell. It kind of defeats the purpose then.

There is one home health aid that has been coming to our house for a long time. She is a very sweet person and personality-wise we get along fine. However, she is always making small mistakes that scare the hell out of me. When she is pushing my wheelchair across a room, for example, if there is something to run into she will run into it. One time she burned my toes in the shower (I may have mentioned this). When she feels a task is difficult or she gets uncomfortable (it gets fairly warm in the bathroom when I have a shower) she seems to want to do a quick and half-assed job. I�m starting to dread her coming over. It�s to the point where I�m expecting one of these little mistakes to end up in disaster. I�ve mentioned this to my mom and she said she would help out to make sure things go smoothly, but I think she has forgotten. She makes me nervous and angry. At first when people are learning how things go I tend to give them a lot of slack, however, she's been around for over a year and you'd think she'd have gotten the hang of it. Forgetting something is one thing, dropping the shower rod on my head (more than once) is something else entirely. Besides the fact that other home health aids seem to have no problems at all learning how to do things and never make the sort of mistakes that she does. If this person knew how I felt she would probably feel awful, she loves our family. Maybe she'll be retiring soon. Until then I hope I don't land head first in the bathtub.

I finished reading The Tommyknockers today. It was a pretty good book, one of Stephen King's better ones in my opinion. I know a lot of people don't like Stephen King and when I read his books I can kind of see why, except those particular quirks don't bother me. In this book you can see the ideas for a later book Needful Things popping up a bit hear and there. I know the basic story of most of the books by him, but had no real idea what The Tommyknockers was about. It was cool to go into the book pretty much blind and watch the story unfold. Sometimes that's the best way to go into a book. I think the next book I�m going to read is The Stone Carvers by Jan Urquhart. I also have one called Unspoken Desires that is about fantasies that lovers won't tell their partners about. I think that will be fairly interesting, and as Qui would say, sordid. ;)

I have been feeling sort of crappy on and off lately and I�m not sure why this is. A couple of times in the past few days I�ve had to make a "run" for the bathroom and I�m not sure why my stomach et. al. are rebelling like this. It's not the flu. Maybe just general depression is showing up as physical complaints.

So far I have $140 towards a light therapy lamp. They cost almost $300 (keep in mind this is Canadian dollars). If I could get about 10 more people to donate $10 that would almost pay for it and take a big load of my parent's and my mind. I have saved up a little bit, which would cover the rest I think (after taxes). So think about pushing the button at the bottom there if you have a credit card... even $5 would be good (and that's like $2.50 in American money).

War is a series of catastrophes that results in a victory.
-- Georges Clemenceau

Sometimes I get the feeling the whole world is against me, but deep down I know that's not true. Some smaller countries are neutral.
-- Robert Orben

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.