4:52 p.m. | Tuesday, Mar. 18, 2003

a short rant

I�ve thought about this more than once over time and so now I�m going to do a rant about it. It�s about sex so hold on to your knickers. Haha.

I've always found it weird that some people (and a lot of books) use the words "made/make love", instead of "have/had sex", or even plain old fucked. I�m not talking about when two people that are in love have sex, expressing the fact that they love each other. I acknowledge that it's totally possible to do that. However, I think it's more of a rare occurrence than people make it out to be. Even couples that are in love just have sex most of the time.

Let me try to be more clear, I think that the words "made love" should only be used if that is in fact what you have done. If you take someone home from the bar for a one night stand, that is fucking. I don't care how much of a connection you made at the time. Fucking is having sex with someone you hardly know and you might not even remember it in the morning. In my opinion fucking probably, for the most part, isn't that good. Sex on the other hand is two people (in love or not) who get naked together, have some fun, and maybe relieve some stress/tension. I think even people who are in love do this most of the time. Finally, making love is when you express love for another person physically. Both people are using their body to show how much they love the other person. I think it takes more energy to do this than just sex (emotional and physical) and it's usually more intense. I was in a relationship where I was in love with the guy I was with and I could tell when we were just having sex or when we were "making love". There is a difference.

Mostly this rant is directed at people who use the words "making love" to describe every sexual experience they have. They have sex with a guy they've only know for a few weeks or months, it's making love, bring someone home from the bar one night, that's making love too. I have to think, are they are prettying up the language so they feel better about the experience for themselves? It sounds better that way so you can believe that's what it really was? I think it's easy to deceive yourself in various ways and maybe that's one of them. If you think about it maybe that's why men are portrayed to be always after sex and women are supposed to be only after love. Language can be powerful. So I say, damn it, say what you mean.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.