11:59 a.m. | Thursday, Sept. 09, 2004

a book to read

I'm reading a book called "A Million Little Pieces" about an addict who has gone into rehab. I was reluctant to read it because it's non-fiction and sometimes these personal confessions are a bit boring and alot sappy. So far I love the book and it is neither boring nor sappy. It is compelling and stark. The part where he has to go to the dentist and get his teeth fixed (he fell on his face and broke all his front teeth); two caps and two root canals, without any anesthetic or painkillers, is traumatic just to read. (If someone could tell me why a recovering addict shouldn't have local anesthetic I'd appreciate it). I have a bit of a phobia about dentists anyway, and I get the shivers just thinking about it. I find it slightly disturbing that the name of the man in the book is James, because he reminds me of my James for various reasons. On the back of the book where you read the quotes of praise, one of the quotes ends in "the writing, the writing, the writing...". I completely agree.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.