12:46 p.m. | Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2004

yay!

I am back from being enzymed. Everything went very well and I feel really good. I had to get up at 4:30am yesterday to catch a plan at 6:30am. That part really sucked. I don't really like flying and it had been awhile so I repeated flying is safer than driving a car over and over on the plane for a little while. One of the flight attendants (good looking female) said I was "so cute". I'm not sure exactly what she meant by that but I felt instantly better. We arrived in Calgary and waited a bit for the cab. There was almost a mix-up with that but we got our ride and arrived at the hospital safe and sound. From there things are kind of a blur for a couple hours... I know I answered a billion questions and hopped into bed right away. I met a ton of people, resident, intern, nurses and then the doctor. The doctor was the one that had originally diagnosed me at 14 years old here in Saskatoon so it was very appropriate that he got to start administering this new drug. I had an electrocardiogram and a ton of blood taken. I didn't get a semi-permanent IV, there was apparently some miscommunication there, so it was just a regular one. It took them four tries to get it though and that hurt like a son of a bitch. *shows her bruises* Then the drug entered the room in a nice IV bag. It was just clear and didn't look like anything special. It was special though because I couldn't take my eyes off it and finally they hooked me up to it. I was told about a million times that if I felt different at all I was to tell them immediately. I watched it drip for awhile and didn't feel different at all. I answered about another hundred questions for the study (there is a huge binder full of them) and they checked my blood pressure and temperature every half hour. The infusion takes four hours and they up the dose every half hour to the maximum. Basically all that changed was my blood pressure went up slightly and I could taste metal a little bit. The metal taste is a steroid reaction apparently and is fixed by drinking orange juice. I had a nap for about an hour and a half and at 4pm we were done. The doctor did some muscle strength testing and poof it was over. It felt almost anti-climactic except for this feeling of calm content. I was also not nearly as tired as I should have been. I don't know if this was because of the enzyme, because I the mystery was finally over so I could relax or both.

Today I feel awesome. I'm so happy! I can't believe this is finally happening and it's finally here! I still feel so calm and content like things are falling into place. My next date for going is October 26th and we have dates scheduled until the end of December. There are not words to describe how wonderful this is.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.