4:23 p.m. | Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

another entry for this month, neat huh

I forgot to mention in yesterdays entry the really cute pilot on the flight home. He was hanging about talking as people left the airplane and I ended up having a conversation with him. He also carried some of our bags for us until we found our cab driver. I could have definitely taken the very nice and hot pilot home with me as well.


Beatitudes for People with Disabilities

by Majorie Chappell

Blessed are those who take time to listen to the defective speech,
for you help us to know that if we persevere we can be understood.

Blessed are those who walk with us in public places and ignore the
stares of strangers for in your companionship we find havens of
relaxation.

Blessed are those who never bid us "hurry up" and more blessed are
you that do not snatch out tasks from our hands to do them for us,
for often we need time rather than help.

Blessed are those who stand beside us as we enter new ventures, for
our failures will be outweighed by the times we surprise ourselves and
you.

Blessed are those that ask for our help, for our greatest need is to
be needed.

Blessed are those when by all these things you assure us that the
thing that makes us individuals is not our peculiar muscles, nor our
wounded nervous systems, but it is the God-given self that no
infirmity can confine.

Blessed are those who realise that we are human and don't expect us
to be saintly just because we have a disability.

Blessed are those that pick things up without being asked.

Blessed are those who understand that sometimes I am weak and not
just lazy.

Blessed are those who forget the disability of my body and see the
shape of my soul.

Blessed are those who see me as a whole person, unique and
complete and not as one of God's mistakes.

Blessed are those who love me just as I am without wondering what I
would've been like.

Blessed are my friends upon whom I depend, for they are the
substance and joy of my life.


I post these unmodified because I want to give credit for the person who wrote them. Personally I would take out the word "God" in all the places it appears as I don't believe in him/her/it. I would also leave out "blessed" because, obviously, a god of some sort has to be responsible for the blessings. However, because the rest rings completely true I have posted it. Friends that treat you like a human being and as a normal friend, standing up for you and understanding the way they would for other friends, are so important and equally as rare.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.