8:59 p.m. | May 13, 2002

my morality issue, you know you were waiting for it

I�m playing civilization 2 and typing this entry in the dark. I can't be bothered to turn on a light. That�s what I mostly say these days I think; I can't be bothered, it might look like work. Depression has sapped my motivation for anything unfamiliar. I can't wait to get into bed and read at night so I don't have to face the real world anymore.

I said I would type something about morality or a morality issue and I suppose I should do that now. The issue is drugs. Yeah well, I know it's been done to death but I�ve been thinking about it a lot lately. Combination of ex-boyfriend memories, Trainspotting and talking to my cousin.

Ok so the main problems with drugs are fairly obvious, well to me anyway. For one, some of them are very addicting. For another, they can be very expensive. The combination of the two leads to the biggest problem in American right now, which is drug addicts trying to get money for drugs.

This leads to me to something else entirely, not all drugs are addicting or dangerous (keep moderation in mind here). Most drugs when taken occasionally will not addict you or kill you. Alcohol can kill you and so can tobacco. They seem to be legal. Caffeine is addicting... I bet that more lives have been ruined by alcoholism than most other drugs that are illegal. So for me, drugs are a legal non-issue for the most part. However, the fact that they are illegal makes a few things about them worse. One, money and two people trying to make money from them. You can make a hell of a lot of money by selling drugs and the idea is to sell them to as many people as possible. This, I think, leads to selling them to kids. I personally think that's wrong, to give people in their growing and developing years, mind altering substances. Besides the fact that kids (teenagers) are very easily persuaded into things, think they are invinsible and are emotionally very malleable.

What I am not against is people trying drugs in a responsible way, getting them from a "safe" source. Also, it's better if you aren't addicted on the first go (ie. trying heroin). The only problem is, the people that do drugs usually aren't the responsible ones. I personally haven't even tried an illegal substance, but I one day might. What worries me is people who use drugs (and alcohol) as a crutch, people are completely out of control and don't even care what the consequences are. People who say that it isn't a big deal to drink and do various drugs every weekend and usually don't remember half of what goes on and think that isn't a big deal. I�m not out to run anyone's life or tell them what to do, but I still worry. When someone tells me that cocaine sobers them up enough to drive, I worry. When someone tells me that they didn't come to see me for 3 days because they were fucked up on drugs, I worry. When you talk to stoners who barely can put together a coherent sentence and seem stupid like a brick, I worry. The ward on lived on in the hospital for 13 months was where they brought people who overdosed. So when anyone tells me they are experimenting with drugs, I worry.

So, that's my morality discussion for today. I have no idea what a solution would be for any or all of the problems I pointed out. Obviously nothing they have tried is working. It�s a touchy subject with huge misconceptions whirling around in it. I think I threw this out here in my diary for feedback as well as to get it off my chest. So agree with me, disagree with me, tell me I�m right, tell me I�m an idiot for what I have said. Comments are welcome.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.