12:03 p.m. | Saturday, Sept. 14, 2002

drugs and books

Well it seems that one of the medications I have been taking is no longer available in Canada. Ephedrine, which you used to be able to find in health food stores, is now banned, even in prescription form. There was no warning, I just called for a refill and they said they couldn't give me any because you couldn't get it anymore. I have no idea why they banned it; I guess it's the fad scapegoat at the moment. People liked to take it to lose weight, but if you took too much or had heart problems then you were in trouble. I think a few people overdosed and had a stroke. In this province you can get marijuana for medicinal purposes but not ephedrine. If we were anymore backwards our feet would be on the wrong way.

I finished Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver. I love her books. They are very rich in landscape and character all at once. You can put yourself inside the book and be where the people are, look around and admire the surroundings. You can also get to know the characters really well and feel what they are feeling. I was sad to see the book end, but it started and ended beautifully. The first book I read of hers was The Poisonwood Bible and that had me hooked. I also love her books because each one is so different from the others, you don't know what to expect. In any case, I say go read the book. It took place in the south so I ended up dreaming about my ex-fianc� (he's from Tennessee). The book was worth it though, hehe.

Book: The Witches of Worm Zilpha Keatley Snyder

Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining.
-- Jeff Raskin, interviewed in Doctor Dobb's Journal

If you haven't found something strange during the day, it hasn't been much of a day.
-- John A. Wheeler

Life... is like a grapefruit. It's orange and squishy, and has a few pips in it, and some folks have half a one for breakfast.
-- Douglas Adams

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.