8:36 p.m. | Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2002

*splutter*!!

Well I thought I would keep quiet about this in my diary just because that's what I normally do, keep quiet. However this has gotten so ridiculous that I have to say something. My good friend Gingerbug (who I won't link because her diary is locked) has been totally harassed and flamed to the point that she has to quit diaryland. It all started with a little contest called Diaryland Survivor, a writing contest based on the TV show Survivor. They would have topics to write on and people would be voted off. It sounded like fun to me and I honestly thought about trying to get in. I�m sincerely glad now I didn't even attempt to. Gingerbug joined the contest and for some reason quite a few of the players and a couple of judges (so much for being impartial) have joined together to harass, flame and basically say terrible things about her. She did not do anything to deserve this and honestly I know her to be a really good and creative person. They have made fun of her for having marriage problems, abortions, anxiety attacks and made jokes about her mother's battle with cancer and suicide. If that's not horrible I don't know what is. They decided to go one step further and reveal online her personal details. I�ve read some of the posts in various online forums, journals and blogs. It�s appalling and I�m not sure which is worse that people would take the time to do this with such personal information or the level of complete immaturity and maliciousness it is done with. I�ve seen some crap on the Internet in my time but this takes the cake.

I think that Gingerbug herself has handled this as best she could. She ignored them and complained to those in "responsible" positions on the forum and to yahoo groups (who are the only people in this whole mess that actually honored their own rules). The people in charge of the forum posted private email they recieved from her and (of course) did nothing! I couldn't believe that, and I've read it with my own eyes. I read their rules and agreements for joining their damn forum and there was the standard message that they were against harassment, racism, sexual content, etc. It boggles the brain. The other people in a position to nip this in the bud would have been the judges of Diaryland Survivor who could have reminded the players that it was just a game and that harassment would not be tolerated. No, some of them chose to participate in this spectacle. I don't think any of them ever did anything to stop it.

So in short, I�m appalled. Read Evil-Edna's entry on this. She has more information than I do. I will agree that sometimes Edna can go over the top on a subject but this time her indignation mirrors my own.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.