11:52 a.m. | 2003-02-26

the author of the diary speaks again

I can't agree that fear will make people behave. Punishment always seems like a far away and "maybe if I get caught" sort of thing. Most people in prisons are re-offenders (and we all know how lovely prison is) and the death penalty has never shown to be much of a deterrent to murder. Especially when it is used only in extreme cases.

I don't think anyone is blameless for their crimes; children and adults alike should be punished. I�m just saying that we might have to look more to the "why" of crime (especially in children) in order for reform to work and to prevent further criminal behavior.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.