3:32 p.m. | 2003-02-26

james

The problem with study with a purpose behind it is you're looking for something. The best discoveries have always come when we were watching but not looking. Hearing but not listening. I doubt we're going to find out why I killed that lady allegedly, only the real killer knows why I did these things. Er, why he. Or she. If we ever do I don't think it's going to keep me from killing again. Allegedly.

I guarantee you that negative reinforcement does in fact work. No not with everyone, but if you're looking for a foolproof method good luck. The felon I live with now absolutely REFUSES to break the law for my financial gain for fear of going to prison for the rest of his life. Another ex-con in the family is very much on the scared straight and narrow path.

Not a damn thing you're going to do is going to make me behave in a fashion I've already decided against. Threaten to cut my balls off, or do so, and I have just that much less to lose. And you as someone to focus on for taking them. And if you think I'm above cutting off your genitalia in your sleep and saut�ing them in a butter and olive oil sauce you're very much mistaken. Choose to threaten too much and I'll choose against you every time out of spite. So for some people there probably is no effective deterrent.

A concept that should be considered (and might piss all you fuckers off more than the original post) is the idea that a world without crime, a world where I can walk down the street in complete safety, is a boring as hell world. I'm sorry, but if I don't have some possible risk of dying in some random and freakish way, I don't want to wake up in the morning. So when you all create your Utopia don't invite me over. Until you get bored.

And if you think about it, isn't that the deterrent prison really presents? Anybody I've ever met whose ever been and doesn't want to go back mentions that it's a scary place, but they stress the boredom.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.