1:26 p.m. | Sunday, May. 25, 2003

drugs are good, mmmkay

I finished the book Prozac Nation and I have to say it is a great book and worth the read. The only problem is that the author slightly irritated me because she (even when not depressed) likes to create scenes, is dramatic and in your face. She is also excessively beautiful (the girl is stunning) and incredibly intelligent (I had to make sure I had a dictionary close by and after awhile I got tired of looking up words). While she was depressed and on mind-altering drugs (both legal and illegal) she managed to do more than most people do when they are mentally fit. She graduated high school with excellent grades; she finished her freshman year at Harvard winning writing awards. She traveled, she held down jobs, she must have had money for her drugs, her clothes, and her cab rides. I realize none of this makes her depression or experiences any less valid, however, it just makes me feel a bit inferior. Plus, even when she was at a point when she couldn't get out of bed and didn't see the point in personal hygiene she was reading her books, turning in assignments and getting good grades in college (even though she hardly went to class). Honestly, that seems no less than spectacular. It is hard to read a book about someone who is spectacular in even the depths of despair when spectacular is something that seems so far out of reach. I suppose she has what I want (though not her personality, yikes) and I dislike coveting what I will never have.

Blah.

Good book though.

On the other hand I felt putting big circles around many of the passages with a red pencil. Big red circles around the parts that say to me �Yep this is the way it really is.� The fact that she is a great writer made the feelings and experience of depression come through clearly and articulately. She also touches on the fact that actually being around a person who is very depressed is exhausting and ultimately hellishly annoying. It takes patience, understanding and frankly strength and persistence that most people don�t have. I know I don�t. The last chapter was about how Prozac has become a fix-it drug and nobody seems to realize that you have to deal with what made you depressed in the first place. Prozac might make you not sad but it won�t fix the problems that caused the sadness in the first place. Drugs are not a substitute for good therapy, counseling or whatever you�d like to call it. Drugs give you the strength to get up in the morning, do the things you have to do to survive and get to the psychologist appointment.

Previous | Next


Archives Current Sign Bio
Rings Profile Wish Clix me Email

Design Brushes Host

Female/26-30. Lives in Canada/Saskatchewan/Saskatoon/, speaks English and  . Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Reading.
This is my blogchalk:
Canada, Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, , English, , Female, 26-30, Reading.